Zone Competitors Qualify for Class 1A State Track Finals (Updated)

Posted May 26, 2022 2:02 PM

Last updated May 27, 2022 9:49 AM

Written by Millie Lange

Newton’s 3200 relay team of Owen Mahaffey, Nick Shamhart, Luke Weber and Luis Zavala advanced to the final by finishing third in Friday’s preliminaries in 8:19.97 minutes.

Several area competitors qualified Thursday at the Class 1A boys’ track meet for the finals scheduled for Saturday at Eastern Illinois University’s O’Brien Stadium.

Jadon Robertson of Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City will compete in four events on Saturday. Robertson won the 110 hurdles preliminaries on Thursday clocking 14.53 seconds. He also took first place in the 300 hurdles in 38.90 seconds.

Robertson placed first in the long jump with a jump of 6.82 meters and was second in the high jump at 1.88 meters.

CHBC’s Daniel Lucas will also enter the final on Saturday after claiming first place in shooting with a thrust of 18.25 metres. Newton’s Jacob Wickham also qualified. He placed ninth with a throw of 14.80 meters to advance.

Newton had several team members qualify for the final on Saturday. Parker Wolf finished sixth in the 100m in 11.06 seconds to qualify. Evan Schafer finished fifth in the 400 in 50.32 seconds to advance.

The 400 relay team of Dalton Baltzell, Ben Meinhart, Parker Wolf and Evan Schafer advanced to a sixth-place finish in 43.65 seconds. The 3200 relay team of Owen Mahaffey, Nick Shamhart, Luke Weber and Luis Zavala finished third in 8:19.97 to qualify. Additionally, the 1600 relay team of Owen Mahaffey, Ben Meinhart, Parker Wolf and Evan Schafer finished second in three minutes and 26.49 minutes to qualify.

Two local athletes qualified in discus. CHBC’s Daniel Lucas finished ninth with a throw of 44.99 meters to advance to the final. Newton’s Jacob Wickham took 12th in 44.52 meters and also advances.

Griffen Elder (St. Anthony) and Nick Zwilling (Newton) will compete in the 3200 on Saturday.

Not advancing but competing at State were:

100 — 25th Xander Moschenrose (Altamont), 25th, 11.40s; 30th Evan Schafer (Newton), 11.56 sec.

200 — 26th Xander Moschenrose (Altamont), 23.44 sec.

400 — 10th Parker Wolf (Newton), 50.96 sec.

1600 — 17th Griffen Elder (St. Anthony), 4:35.55 min.; 21st Nick Zwilling (Newton), 4:38.12 min.

110 hurdles — 12th. Evan Baltzell (Newton), 16.09 sec.

Relay 400 – 27th Altamont (Xander Moshenrose, Noah Klimpel, Devon Sloan, Logan Duncan), 44.76 s.

Relay 800 – 27th Altamont (Xander Moshenrose, Logan Duncan, Devon Sloan, Noah Klimpel), 1:34.82 min; 32nd Newton (Dalton Baltzell, Ben Meinhart, Isaac Flowers, Luis Zavala), 1:37.06 min.

Relay 1600 – 23rd St. Anthony (Elliot Frisbie, Conlan Walsh, Griffen Elder, Max Sager), 3:36.44 min.

Relay 3200 – 24th St. Anthony (Giovanni Bucio, Elliott Frisbie, Aidan Braunecker, Conlan Walsh), 8:48.97 min.

Discus — 21st Eric Kollmann (Altamont), 40.38 meters

High jump — 13. Dontye Perry (Neoga), 1.88 metres; 24. Ben Roedl (Altamont), 1.80m

Pole vault — 24. Max Sager (St. Anthony), 3.20 meters

Comments are closed.