Voters in Stirling are set to go to the polls to choose councilors on May 5 – here’s a reminder of the candidates in your areas

Voters go to the polls tomorrow (Thursday) to elect the 23 people who will make up Stirling’s next Council.

A total of 56 candidates are running in Stirling for local elections on May 5.

While some residents who registered for an absentee ballot will have already cast their ballots, many will officially make their choices in person at area polling stations tomorrow (Thursday).

The SNP is fielding 14 candidates, the Conservatives 11, Labor and the Liberal Democrats seven each and the Greens five. There are also four independents, an Alba candidate and the Scottish Family Party have a candidate in each ward in the Stirling Council area.

The 23 elected members of Stirling Council represent a total of seven wards.

After the 2017 elections, the ruling administration was formed by a coalition between the SNP and Labour, which had eight and four councilors respectively. The Conservatives formed the opposition with nine councilors – later reduced to eight when one became independent.

Voters will use the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system. Instead of putting a cross in the chosen box as is done in general elections, voters use numbers.

Ballots list all of the candidates running to be councilors in your ward.

The voter then numbers the candidates in order of choice by writing the number 1 in the box next to the name of the candidate who is your first choice, 2 in the box next to your second choice, 3 in the box next to your third choice, etc. You can make as many or as few choices as you want.

Here is a final reminder of the candidates in each district:

District 1, Trossachs and Teith

Martin Earl, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Wendy Faulkner, Scottish Greens

Josh Hamilton, Scottish Labor Party

Dolores Hughes Scottish Family Party

Gene Maxwell, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Galen Milne, Scottish Liberal Democrat

John Watson, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Elaine Watterson, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Ward 2, Forth and Endrick

Rob Davies, Independent

Rosemay Fraser, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Paul Goodwin, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Thomas Heald, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Paul Henke, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

James MacLaren, Scottish Liberal Democrat

Gerry McGarvey, Scottish Labor Party

Liam McKechnie, Scottish Family Day,

Ward Three, Dunblane and Bridge of Allan

Bill Cowan, Alba Party

Ewan Dillon, Scottish Labor Party

Douglas Dodds, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Graham Houston, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Ahsan Khan, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Alastair Majury, Independent

Fayzan Rehman, Scottish Liberal Democrat

Willy Stirling, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Alasdair Tollemache, Scottish Green

Nickie Willis, Scottish Family Party

Ward Four, North Stirling

Oliver Franklin, Scottish Liberal Democrat

Danny Gibson, Labor and Co-operative Party

Susan McGill, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Shena McLelland Scottish Family Party

Rachel Nunn, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Amy Smith, Scottish Greens

Jim Thomson, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Ward Five, Stirling West

Neil Benny, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Scott Farmer, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Morag Fulton, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Dick Moerman, Scottish Liberal Democrat

Alastair Pettigrew, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Jen Preston, Scottish Labor Party

Michael Willis, Scottish Family Party

Ward Six, East Stirling

Bryan Flannagan, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Linda Hendry, Scottish Greens

Chris Kane, Scottish Labor Party

Gary McGrow, Independent

Gerry McLaughlan, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Gordon Murphy, Scottish Liberal Democrat

Grant Thoms, Scottish National Party (SNP)

David Tortolano, Scottish Family Party

Ward Seven, Bannockburn

Margaret Brisley, Scottish Labor Party

Brian Hambly, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Sophie Hendry Scottish Family Party

Alasdair MacPherson, Independent

Hilary MacPherson, Scottish Liberal Democrat

Stuart McLuckie, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Marie Stadtler, Scottish Greens

Diane Tortolano, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Comments are closed.