Mythen scores 14 points as Oulart-The Ballagh edge past Ballyhogue

Oulart-Le Ballagh 0-23 Ballyhogue 1-18

ULART-THE BALLAGH led the way in Group B of the TSB Junior “A” Permanent Hurling Championship after summoning a strong finish to overhaul Ballyhogue in an absorbing contest in sunny Bree on Sunday.

When the hosts gained six points seven minutes into the second half, they appeared to be on course for a three out of three wins, but were trailed eleven points to three for the rest of the game.

Peadar Mythen contributed a whopping 14 points for the winners but was ably assisted by Darren Nolan, who split the posts four times, while their substitutes made a big impact when the game was in the crucible.

The teams couldn’t be separated early on but Ballyhogue got a boost in the 14th minute when they grabbed the game’s only goal to take a 1-5 0-5 lead.

Noel Roche attacked with real purpose and delivered a pass to David Hennebry, who fired an unstoppable shot around the corner of the net.

Ballyhogue were six points from good in the 26th minute, with Hennebry, Peter Kelly and Cian Wickham all adding to their tally, but a few scores from Peadar Mythen kept Oulart-The Ballagh in touch at half-time (1- 10 to 0-9).

Colm Parnell, Shane Byrne, Liam Doyle and Seán Rochford added their names to the scoring list as the lead was extended to six in the 38th minute, but Oulart-The Ballagh put his foot down and scored eight in the trot out in a devastating ten-minute spell, with Paul Roche, Peadar Mythen, Anthony Storey and Darren Nolan doing the needful.

A quick brace from substitute Graham Parker brought Ballyhogue level, but a free Mythen edged Oulart-The Ballagh again with four minutes remaining.

A superb sideline cut from Shane Roche meant he was level again in the final minute, but Darren Nolan repeated the trick at the other end seconds later before Mythen grabbed the insurance spot of a ’65.

Oulart-Le Ballagh: Stephen Doyle; Daire Swords, Robbie Cleary, Michael Doyle; David Rossiter, Andrew Kavanagh, Conor Lawless; Cathal Kenny, Niall Nimmo; Stephen O’Connor, Peadar Mythen (0-14, 8 free, 2’65), James O’Toole; Robbie Dunne, Darren Nolan (captain, 0-4, 1 ball in line), Darren Kelly (0-1). Subs. – Paul Roche (0-2) for Kenny (25), Stephen Davitt (0-1) for Kelly (30+1), Anthony Storey (0-1) for Rossiter (36), Gerard Kennedy for O’Toole (43 ).

Ballyhog: Niall Maher; Eddie Galavan, Seán Rochford (captain, 0-1), Colm Parnell (0-1); Eamonn Doyle, James Parle, Sean Ring; Shane Doyle, Conor Byrne; David Hennebry (1-4, 0-3 free), Cian Wickham (0-4), Shane Byrne (0-1); Noel Roche, Peter Kelly (0-2), Liam Doyle (0-2). Subs. – Graham Parker (0-2) for Roche (46), Shane Roche (ball line 0-1) for S. Byrne (50), Enda Minogue for Ring (55).

Arbitrator: Martin Quigley (Rathnure).

Comments are closed.