Impasse is suitable for St. Anne’s and Ballyhogue


OTH ST. Anne’s and Ballyhogue booked their places in the Round of 16 of the TSB Junior “A” Hurling Permanent Championship with a stalemate in Rathangan on Sunday.

The result, although not desired by either, worked perfectly for both as they moved to five points apiece in four games. They had to wait a bit for confirmation, but Blackwater’s win over Tara Rocks later in the evening means the top four are safe.

The visitors made a strong impression towards the end of the first half, building a lead on the back of a series of points.

St. Anne’s got off to a good start at home, as David Kavanagh scored 1-1 in the first quarter and Jess Codd scored a brace as they led 1-3 to 0-5.

Scores were shared more freely at the other end as Shane Byrne, Peter Kelly (two) and the Minogues, Enda and Ronan, were all on target in the early stages.

Their team built a second-quarter lead, with Enda Minogue (three) and Shane Doyle (two) on target to send Ballyhogue into an interval advantage of 0-10 at 1-4.

Against the elements, scores were harder to come by for Ballyhogue. Minogue, Liam Doyle and David Hennebry added a point each, but three free Codds, along with miners from Andrew Walsh, Michael O’Brien and Adam Moore, split the spoils.

Saint Anne : Paul Brenan; Gavin O’Brien, Jack O’Brien, Barry Roche; Darren Moore, Kevin White, Jim Ryan; Cathal Murphy, Kevin Breen; Adam Moore (0-1), Andrew Walsh (0-1), Jess Codd (0-6 free); Rory O’Brien, Kyle Kennedy, David Kavanagh (1-1). Subs. – Michael O’Brien (0-1) for Murphy, Seamus Mythen for Kennedy, Philip Rawson for R. O’Brien, Michael Cullen for Ryan.

Ballyhog: Niall Maher; Eddie Galavan, Sean Rochford, Colm Parnell; Sean Ring, James Parle, Eamon Doyle; Shane Doyle (0-2), Enda Minogue (0-4); David Hennebry (0-1 free), Peter Kelly (0-2), Cian Wickham; Liam Doyle (0-1), Shane Byrne (0-1), Ronan Minogue (0-2 free). Subs. – Noel Roche for L. Doyle, Liam Rossiter for Minogue, Graham Parker for Byrne.

Arbitrator: Derek Murphy (Saint Martin).

Comments are closed.